top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

SERMON ILLUSTRATION (BY SPURGEON) Describes The Importance Of A Christian Worldview.



Spurgeon was a master illustrator. You can use this illustration in your own preaching to describe the importance of a Christian worldview.

A merchant comes to a city, town, or village. He calculates whether it is a good place for business. “Bad place, this,” says he; “a man cannot live here; it is a bad situation;” and he is not content unless he gets near the bank or in Lombard Street, or some other business quarter.


Now look at the artist. He has another light. You take that artist into the city, and he says, “I could not live here in this dreary wilderness of brick, amid these fogs. Let me get away to North Wales, or somewhere where the picturesque is to be seen.” He settles himself down in a small rural village, and he says, “This is beautiful.”


Take the rich man there and tell him, “You are to live here for twenty years.”

“Twenty years?” he says, “I could not live here a month. It is preposterous. This is not a place where a man can live.”

Bring a man of gaiety into a religious circle, and he says, “I want a place where there is some life.”

I have been traveling sometimes where I thought the scenery very beautiful, and I have heard young men say, “This is a hateful place; there is no life here.” Well, everybody sees according to the light he sees.

Have you ever seen things in the light of Christ? Did you ever feel, “This is the place where I can live, for here are Christians with whom I can commune? Here the gospel is preached, and my soul will be fed here. I shall learn much of Christ. This is a sphere in which I can be useful.” When you have life you will get light, and you will see things in that light. You will see yourself in the light of Christ. You will say, “God, be merciful to me, a sinner.” Everything looks according to your light. Yellow spectacles will make everything look yellow. But get the true light, the only light that can lighten any man that comes into the world, and things will be seen in truth. If you get Christ within you, you have light indeed.

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page