top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Running the Race With My Eyes on Jesus: A Devotional Poem By Bob Sanders



I am fixing my eyes on Jesus

I am looking past my problems

I am honing my focus

gazing intently at Him

peering through dark clouds

of chaos and confusion

corruption and pollution

onto Jesus

our one true hope and solution

 

The Father's heart is my target

my path has been marked

my goal is firmly set

I am moving out of the dark

into His glorious light

not turning to the left or the right

pressing into the straight and narrow

I am piercing through hostile winds

like a flaming arrow

 

I am sojourning in the race set before me

purposed to remain focused and disciplined

following His pre-set course wholeheartedly

casting off the entanglements of sin

shedding fear and doubt

for I am running to win

on this heavenly route

I am eating and drinking

from His Eternal Source

fortifying me to finish this course

 

Jesus my Captain, faithful and true

Author and Finisher of my faith in You

You are completing the inner work

You have committed Yourself to do

even when it doesn't appear to be so

the seeds You’ve planted continue to grow

forge my heart to be undivided I pray

guard me from being double-minded

don't let me stray

 

I long to pursue Your merciful face

for often I am crawling and limping

rather than running this race

please continue to fortify me

with Your empowering grace

 

Envelope me in Your presence

set Your joy before me

armor me with love and perseverance

garrison me with Your resilience

so I can continue running

with faith and patience

 

Bless my seeking and my finding

breathe into me Your refreshing love

enhance my believing and receiving

help me set my mind on things above

fan my heart flame to fervently pursue

loving, trusting, and worshiping You

 

My God, You are faithful and true

You make all things new

You bring the needed breakthroughs

cause me to be motivated and wooed

to gladly complete the destiny

that You have marked out for me

cause me to remain aligned

with You and Your finish line

As you welcome me

into Your everlasting arms of eternity

to celebrate with You, my King

endless joy, bliss, and tranquility

 

(Heb 12:1-2, 1Cor 9:24, Phil 3:14, 2Tim 4:7-8)

By Bob Sanders-©

0 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page