top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Preach Peace

You will keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you.

Isaiah 26:3



Peace may seem an elusive goal. Over the past 4,000 years, it has been estimated there have been more than 3,700 years of war. Throughout written history, more than 8,000 peace treaties have been made… and just as many broken. Today, there is a definite absence of peace in Eastern Europe. There are other wars, too. Domestic tensions are escalating in the nation’s body politic. Marriages are crumbling. People are not even at peace with themselves. Where can peace be found? How can it be achieved?


During His ministry on Earth, Jesus preached peace. “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid” (John 14:27). The world defines peace as the absence of war and conflict. God’s definition is serenity in the midst of turmoil and trials. Experiencing the peace that passes all understanding is only available when you are plugged into the Prince of Peace, the Lord Jesus. “I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart, I have overcome the world” (John 16:33).


You have a choice to make. Today’s verse is the key: fix your mind, your thoughts, your emotions, on Jesus Christ. It takes determination not to succumb to distractions… and there are many vying for your attention. It is a discipline. As one old preacher said, “there are a lot of strange thoughts that fly above my head like birds; I just don’t let them build a nest in my hair.” The more in love you are with Jesus, the more your thoughts will center on Him.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page