top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

DON'T GOSSIP



One day a woman felt overwhelmed with guilt over her years of malicious gossip. She went to the local priest and confessed her sin. The priest was all too aware of her wagging tongue and had experienced the sting of her words first hand…. or rather a second hand.


What can I do to rectify all the damage I have caused with my gossip?” she asked.


“Gather a bag of feathers,” he began. “Then go around to each house and place a feather at their door.”


That seemed like a simple enough request, so the woman did just as the priest had instructed. After the task was complete, she returned. “I have done what you requested,” she said. “Now what am I to do?”


“Now go back and retrieve each of the feathers,” he replied.


“That is impossible,” the woman argued. “The wind will have blown them all around town by now.”


“Exactly,” replied the wise priest. “Once you have spoken an ill word, it drifts through the air on wings of gossip, never to be retrieved. God has forgiven you, as you have asked. But I cannot remove the consequences of your hurtful words or gather them from the places they have landed.”


Here’s an idea. If a friend approaches you with some “news” or a “concern” about another person, stop and ask, “May I quote you on what you’re about to tell me?” That will usually “put a lid” on the conversation before it even begins.

1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page