top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

A Mother's Work​, Teach Your Children Christ

“Start a youth out on his way; even when he grows old he will not depart from it.” (Proverbs 22:6)



As soon as ever your children can understand anything, let them know about Christ.


Begin early.


A certain minister called, some time ago, to see a mother, having heard that a child about twelve years old was dead. The mother was in very deep distress, and the pastor was not at all surprised at that. He talked to her about the Lord’s giving and the Lord’s taking away, when she suddenly stopped him, and said, “Yes, sir, I know the consolations which may be offered to a mother who has lost her child, and I appreciate them all; but I have a sting in my conscience that you cannot remove, there is a venom in my grief that you cannot cure.”


He asked her what that was, and she said, “I have had it on my conscience to speak to my boy solemnly and privately about his soul for this last year past, but my deceitful heart has always said, ‘Do it tomorrow;’ and I thought”—(here she burst into tears, and the pastor had to wait a while before she could resume her story) “I thought that, as his mind was opening, and he was twelve years of age, I would now do it. Yesterday morning I meant to do it, the very morning he took ill, I thought I would do it; and when I heard him say that he had a headache, I was glad of it, thinking that, while I was soothing him, he would be more ready to hear a mother’s words; but, oh, sir, before I had an opportunity of speaking to him, he was much worse, and I had to take him to bed; and when he was in bed, he fell asleep.


I sent for the physician, but my child had soon fallen into unconsciousness, and he was shortly after removed from me; he has gone before God, and I never solemnly and privately talked to him about his soul. That is a grief you cannot remove.”


Mothers, never have that sting!


Your children may die: begin with them now, that they may not die before you have had an opportunity of telling them the way of salvation.


As someone who loves children, I don't mind teaching them. They are God's gift to you and me.

0 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page