top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Pray God, give me the strength!



NEWS FLASH~

 

 I got great news for you!

 

 John 14:16 

 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter that he may abide with you forever;

 

 "And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever—

  And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor, * who will never leave you.

 

Footnote:

 

Or comforter, or Encourager, Teacher, or Advocate. Greek Paraclete; also, in 14:26.

 

 And I will ask the father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever—

 

 John 16:13

 But when he, the Spirit of truth, comes, he will guide you into all truth. He will not speak on his own; he will speak only what he hears, and he will tell you what is yet to come.

  

Our problem is not with strength but rather with choice. The Holy Spirit is in us and is our strength but we choose to obey or not to obey the Moral Will of God, His (Logas) Living Word. This does not prevent blessings but postpones them. God's Sovereign will is set in stone and it cannot be deviated from but we can prevent it from happening sooner rather than later.

  

The Children Of Israel in the wilderness from Egypt to the promised land was an 11-day journey that took 40 years. They still got there but because they were disobedient to the Moral Will of God it took 39 years 354 days longer than it could have. The Bible says all these things were written as our examples.

  

1Cr 10:6

 Now these things became our examples, with the intent that we should not lust after evil things as they also lusted.

 

1Cr 10:11

 Now all these things happened to them as examples, and they were written for our admonition, upon whom the ends of the ages have come.

  

Two good examples are Joseph and Samson. Joseph in Genesis 39 ran out from the wife of Potiphar, not doing anything wrong, he wound up in jail but God delivered him. Then we have Samson and Delilah in Judges 16 and in the first verse, it says he went into her. He chose to be there. God's Spirit was upon him but he chose to disobey the Moral Will of God and never -the -less jump ahead, after he was defeated and in chains, the spirit had left him, and his hair began to grow back. And in 25 So it happened, when their hearts were merry, that they said, "Call for Samson, that he may perform for us." So they called for Samson from the prison, and he performed for them. And they stationed him between the pillars. 26 Then Samson said to the lad who held him by the hand, "Let me feel the pillars which support the temple so that I can lean on them." 27 Now the temple was full of men and women. All the lords of the Philistines were there—about three thousand men and women on the roof watching while Samson performed. 28 Then Samson called to the LORD, saying, "O Lord GOD, remember me, I pray! Strengthen me, I pray, just this once, O God, that I may with one blow take vengeance on the Philistines for my two eyes!" 29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars which supported the temple, and he braced himself against them, one on his right and the other on his left. 30 Then Samson said, "Let me die with the Philistines!" And he pushed with all his might, and the temple fell on the lords and all the people who were in it. So the dead that he killed at his death were more than he had killed in his life.

  

The reason for this is because both men were used and God's sovereign will came to pass but one took the straight and narrow path and one took the wide road that led to destruction.

  

The Narrow Way

 

 13 "Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. 14 Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and few find it (Matthew7:13-14).

  

Submission to the will of God is not a matter of choice but a must if we love God. Jesus said If you Love (Agape) me keep my commandments. Keep in Greek means to take care of or attend to, to guard them and observe them, do them as an automatic response, and it means to hold fast to the truth.

  

We are given as believers the Holy Spirit and He does the work in us but we must be willing to die to self and submit to the Moral Will of God, His Word.

 

 Paul in Romans 7 said, 14 We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin. 15 I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. 16 And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. 17 As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18 I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. [fn3] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. 20 Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it. 21 So I find this law at work: When I want to do good, evil is right there with me. 22 For in my inner being I delight in God's law; 23 but I see another law at work in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within my members. 24 What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? 25 Thanks be to God—through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God's law, but in the sinful nature a slave to the law of sin.

 

 Don't pray for strength but rather knowledge and the wisdom to choose wisely.

 

 Psa 111:10

 The fear of the LORD [is] the beginning of wisdom: a good understanding have all they that do [his commandments]: his praise endures forever.

 

Pro 1:7

 The fear of the LORD [is] the beginning of knowledge: [but] fools despise wisdom and instruction.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page