top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

"Now we know"

Romans 2:2a

Now we know that God's judgment...




Most people (Christian and non-Christian alike) would agree, that some of history's greatest villains (Jeffery Dahmer, Adolf Hitler, etc.) deserve eternal punishment for their acts while on this earth. Our passage today begins with the words, "Now we know", for Paul is discussing every man is born with the inherent knowledge one day we will be judged by a power higher than ourselves for the way we have lived. It is curious to me how many people will say when discussing a person (OJ Simpson for example), who appears to have done wrong yet escaped punishment, "He'll get what he deserves in the next life." Then in the same breath, argue against God's right to judge their own sinful acts. "I'm a good person," is what I hear most often. So does that mean God won't judge us? Does God hold up a scale and place all of our good and selfless acts on one side and all of our lies, gossip, insults, etc. on the other -- and make His decision accordingly? Do we get to choose what is sinful and what is not? I don't think so. Here is what the Bible says about God's judgment: Psalm 9:6, "The Lord reigns forever; he has established his throne for judgment." Ecclesiastes 3:17, "God will bring to judgment both the righteous and the wicked." Jeremiah 2:35, "You say, 'I am innocent; he is not angry with me.' But I will pass judgment on you because you say, 'I have not sinned.' " Matthew12:36 [Jesus speaking], "But I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken." This coming judgment of God is something we either fear, avoid thinking about or completely deny. Many people in our country have deceived themselves into believing judgment by God is an archaic and uneducated concept. However, regardless of how we feel about it -- it is something all will face. 2 Corinthians 5:10, "For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad."


Do you believe in eternal life? What about God's judgment? I know when I die and appear before the Lord, my sins will have been paid and washed away with the blood of Jesus. Do you have the same confidence?


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page