top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

God’s Covenant with David 2 Samuel 7:1-17


REECAP, LAST WEEK:

The Ark is Brought to Jerusalem 2 Samuel 6:1-19


THIS WEEK:

God’s Covenant with David 2 Samuel 7:1-17

ATTENTION GRABBER!


Bible Charades


This game is to review the main characters in David’s life with the children. Older children will be able to identify more characters than younger ones.


You will need pencils and paper (or 3” x 5” index cards). Before class, make out some cards and write hints of what a person did or said.


Review the example below. Whoever has the card is

the person who will ask the questions and/or act out a character.


After you have shown them how to play the game, pass out cards to various children and have them stand at the front of the room.


The children will ask the questions and/or act out their character while the other children guess who they are.


Younger children may need coaching on what to say. Keep it simple enough for the class to Guess.


Example: Who am I?

I’m the baby of the family.

I’m the second king of Israel.

I star symbol displayed by my people was

named after me!

Who am I?

Answer: King David


Who am I?

I’m the first king of Israel.

I was jealous of David.

I did not obey God very well.

Who am I?

Answer: King Saul


LESSON TIME!

Have you ever wanted to do something very special for God?


Perhaps, it was something that you thought would make Him

happy; but perhaps, God’s answer was not what you expected to

hear.


King David, a “man after God’s own heart,” wanted to do

something very special for the Lord, but God told him “No.”


We will see that although God told David “no,” He had a much better plan for David.


IS GOD’S PLANS EVER WRONG?


WHY?


JEREMIAH 29:11 SAYS,

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.


THE BIBLE FURTHER SAYS IN


Isaiah 55:8-9

8 ​​“For My thoughts are not your thoughts,

​​Nor are your ways My ways,” says the LORD.

9 ​​“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,

​​So are My ways higher than your ways,

​​And My thoughts than your thoughts.


SO, GOD KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING.


WHEN YOU WERE SMALL YOUR MOM AND DAD WOULD SAY THINGS LIKE DON’T TOUCH THE STOVE IT’S HOT.


GOD KNOWS WHAT IS BEST FOR US.


TURN IN YOUR BIBLE TO

2 Samuel 7:1-17 God’s Covenant with David

(1 Chr. 17:1–15 )

1 Now it came to pass when the king was dwelling in his house, and the LORD had given him rest from all his enemies all around, 2 that the king said to Nathan the prophet, “See now, I dwell in a house of cedar, but the ark of God dwells inside tent curtains.”


REMEMBER LAST WEEK DAVID HAD PUT THE ARK IN A TABRINACAL HE HAD SET UP?


WHAT HE IS SAYING HERE IS I DWELL IN A HOUSE OF WOOD OF CEDAR BUT THE MOST PRECIOUS THING WE CAN OWN IS IN A TENT.

DAVID WANTED BETTER FOR THE ARK.


THE BIBLE SAYS OUR BODY IS LIKE A TENT TOO.

2 Corinthians 5:1,

1 For we know that if our earthly house, this tent, is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens.


3 Then Nathan said to the king, “Go, do all that is in your heart, for the LORD is with you.”


DAVID HEARD THESE WORDS AND THOUGHT WOW, NOW I CAN BUILD THE TEMPLE OF GOD.


4 But it happened that night that the word of the LORD came to Nathan, saying, 5 “Go and tell My servant David, ‘Thus says the LORD: “Would you build a house for Me to dwell in? 6 For I have not dwelt in a house since the time that I brought the children of Israel up from Egypt, even to this day, but have moved about in a tent and in a tabernacle. 7 Wherever I have moved about with all the children of Israel, have I ever spoken a word to anyone from the tribes of Israel, whom I commanded to shepherd My people Israel, saying, ‘Why have you not built Me a house of cedar?’ ” ’


NOW THE PROPHET NATHAN GET’S A WORD FOR GOD. GOD TOLD HIM I HAVE NEVER DWELT IN A HOUSE BEFORE ESPECIALLY ONE OF WOOD BUT I HAVE MOVED ALL AROUND THE DESERT WITH THE PEOPLE IN A TENT.


8 Now therefore, thus shall you say to My servant David, ‘Thus says the LORD of hosts: “I took you from the sheepfold, from following the sheep, to be ruler over My people, over Israel. 9 And I have been with you wherever you have gone, and have cut off all your enemies from before you, and have made you a great name, like the name of the great men who are on the earth.


THE LORD IS NOT MAD BUT HE SOUNDS MAD.


GOD IS GETTING SOME POINTS ACROSS TO DAVID. SO HE TAKES DAVID BACK TO THE BEGINNING LIKE A PREQUEL IN A THEATER MOVIE.


STAR WARS WAS LIKE THAT…


IF YOU SAW THE STARWARS SERIES IT STARTED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SERIES, STARTING WITH EPISODES 4, 5, AND 6, AND THEN WENT TO 1, 2, AND 3


GOD TOLD DAVID I FOUND YOU TAKING CARE OF SHEEP AND MADE YOU THE ROULER OVER ALL ISRAEL.


GOD SAID, I PROTECTED YOU FROM ALL YOUR ENEMIES AND I DESTROYED THEM FROM BEFORE YOU, I ALSO HAVE MADE YOUR NAME GREAT LIKE SOME MEN ON THE EARTH.


10 Moreover I will appoint a place for My people Israel, and will plant them, that they may dwell in a place of their own and move no more; nor shall the sons of wickedness oppress them anymore, as previously, 11 since the time that I commanded judges to be over My people Israel, and have caused you to rest from all your enemies. Also, the LORD tells you that He will make you a house FOR ME.


AS GOD IS TALKING HE SAYS I WILL PICK A PLACE FOR ISRAEL AND THEY WILL NOT BE ABUSED ANY LONGER SINCE THE TIME OF THE JUDGES WERE COMMANDED TO STOP SO, NOW YOU CAN REST FROM YOUR ENEMIES AND THE LORD WILL TELL YOU WHERE HIS HOUSE WILL BE FOR ME.


12 “When your days are fulfilled and you rest with your fathers, I will set up your seed after you, who will come from your body, and I will establish his kingdom. 13 He shall build a house for My name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever.


GOD TELLS DAVID WHEN YOU DIE AND REST WITH EVERYONE BEFORE YOU, I WILL ESTABLISH MY KINGDOM AND YOUR NAME FOREVER THROUGH YOUR SON AND HE WILL BUILD ME MY TEMPLE,


DAVID IT’S NOT GOING TO BE YOU BUT IT WILL BE YOUR SON SOLOMON…


14 I will be his Father, and he shall be My son.


GOD FURTHER COMMENTS TO DAVID I WILL BE HIS FATHER,

DAVID WHEN YOU DIE AND YOUR SONS ARE LEFT ALL ALONE I WILL BE THEIR FATHER.


If he commits iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men and with the blows of the sons of men. 15 But My mercy shall not depart from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I removed from before you.


NOW GOD SAYS SOMETHING INTERESTING,

GOD TELLS DAVID IF YOUR SON SINS AGAINST ME I WILL SPANK HIM.

BUT GOD COMFORTS HIM AND SAYS BUT MY MERCY WILL BE WITH HIM NOT LIKE SAUL WHOM GOD REMOVED.


Hebrews 12:6-7 For whom the LORD loves He chastens, and spanks every son whom He receives, if you endure chastening, God deals with you as with sons; for what son is there whom a father does not chasten?


SO, WE TALK ABOUT THIS ALL THE TIME RIGHT

THE WHAT IF


WELL, THE LORD TREATS US LIKE OUR EARTHLY FATHER WOULD AND EVEN THOUGH WE REPENT WE STILL SUFFER CONSEQUENCES FOR OUR SINS.

GOD SEES EVERYTHING… AND KNOWS EVERYTHING…


16 And your house and your kingdom shall be established forever before you. Your throne shall be established forever.”


DAVID’S THRONE WAS ESTABLISHED FOREVER THROUGH

JESUS CHRIST.

IT SAYS IN

Luke 1:31-32 GAIBREL TO MARY

The angel Gabriel appeared to the Virgin Mary in Nazareth. The angel said to her, "Behold you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall name him Jesus. He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Most High, and the Lord God will give him the throne of his forefather David". So, the son was born who was to fulfill the throne promise.


Matthew 1:1 THE GENEALOGIES OF JESUS SAYS,

The record of the genealogy of Jesus the Messiah, the son of David, the son of Abraham:


Luke 1:32-33 He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High, and the Lord God will give Him the throne of His father David, and He will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and His kingdom will have no end.”


17 According to all these words and according to all this vision, so Nathan spoke to David.


So, God SAID ACCORDING TO ALL THE WORDS AND THE VISSION NATHAN SPOKE TO DAVID.


NATHAN WAS USED MIGHTLY IN DAVIDS LIFE AS WE WILL SEE.


MEMORY VERSE

2 SAMUEL 7:16 “And your house and your kingdom shall be established forever before you. Your throne shall be established

forever.”



CRAFT

Faithfulness Mobile


God always kept His promises to David. God has been faithful to us in every area of our lives! When God spoke to Nathan, He listed some of the ways He had been faithful to David.

What are some ways that God has been faithful to you? Think of some things that God has provided or done in your life to show His faithfulness.

Use this craft as a reminder of God’s faithfulness in our lives.

Photocopy onto cardstock enough of the “Faithfulness Mobile” templates as the number of children in your class.

Cut out the large scroll and the three smaller scrolls.

On the large scroll, write in big letters “God’s Faithfulness.” Tell each child to write down on each of the three small scrolls, in a few words, a way that God has been faithful to them.

Using a hole punch, make holes in each of the areas marked. With string, tie the three smaller scrolls to the larger scroll attaching them at the marked holes.

Because of the size of the scrolls, you will have to stagger the length of the string you use.

In other words, you might want to have the two outer scrolls four inches from the larger scroll and the middle scroll, two inches.

Be creative. Allow the children to color or decorate their craft


PRAY

SNACK






0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page