top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

GOD IS ON MY SIDE

The Lord is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me? – Psalm 118:6



Are you in the holiday spirit? Have you decorated a tree or put up a seasonal centerpiece? Are you finished with shopping?


How about cookie or stollen baking? There is so much to do that, even in the most celebratory times, it is easy to become overwhelmed and anxious. Anxiety, if not dealt with, can lead to fear. Slow down, take a deep breath, and say aloud the first part of today’s verse, “The Lord is on my side.” Say it again.


Contemplate the significance of the God of the universe, the Creator of space and time, the Father of your Lord Jesus Christ, being on your side.


Saint Patrick of Ireland, born around 390 in Scotland and taken captive and imprisoned in Ireland when he was sixteen years old, penned a prayer or hymn in which he wrote, “Christ with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me, Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me, Christ on my right, Christ on my left,” and that is not all. Patrick knew the strength of the Lord, and practiced the presence of God daily, as did Brother Lawrence in the 17th century, who wrote teachings compiled in the book “Practicing the Presence of God.” Just as these believers had a continual consciousness and awareness of God being with them, so can you.


Embrace and absorb the awareness that the Lord is with you and on your side today. Ask Him for reassurance when you experience doubt. Confess any sins that might stand in the way of your conscious connection with Him. Then live fearlessly, for He is bigger than any circumstance that could overtake you.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page