top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

QUOTES

Updated: Jul 6, 2022


"May God grant to us grace to be Daniels, even if the lions' den should threaten us." -

Charles Spurgeon


Let me forget the world and be swallowed up in the desire to glorify God. ⏤

David Brainerd


Oh, that I could fill up every moment of time, during my abode here below, in the service of my God and King.

David Brainerd


Is it not fully convincing that there is a God who takes care of you, inasmuch as you have found in all the temptations and difficulties of your lives His promises still fulfilled and faithfully performed in all those conditions?

John Flavel


The most wicked book you will ever read is your own heart.

Charles Spurgeon


How amazing it is, that the living who know they must die, should notwithstanding “put far away the evil day,” in a season of health and prosperity; and live at such an awful distance from a familiarity with the grave, and the great concerns beyond it!


"God brings revival not for the enjoyment of His people, but for the glory of His name, and He will not share that glory with men." -

Brian Edwards.


Not only does God never lose a battle, God never wastes a battle!


“Grace is not sought nor bought nor wrought. It is a free gift of Almighty God to needy mankind.” —Billy Graham


God save us from hiding from ourselves our secret faults. Let us be willing to be spoken to by the rough preacher’s stern voice! Let us be greedy to read those passages of Scripture that try us most.

Spurgeon


Whatever subject I preach, I do not stop until I reach the Savior, the Lord Jesus, for in Him are all things.

Spurgeon


Theology 101: We need to think less in terms of “taking communion, “doing the Lord’s Supper,” and “commemorating Christ” and more in terms of “receiving communion,” “participating in the Lord’s Supper,” and “communing with Christ”.


"Promptness is one of the brightest excellencies in faith's actings. Delay spoils all." -

Charles Spurgeon


The true Christian is called to be a soldier and must behave as such; He is not meant to live a life of religious ease, indolence, and security. He must never imagine for a moment that he can sleep and doze along the way to heaven, like one traveling in an easy carriage.

JC Ryle


"I need to be made willing to be forgotten." -

Robert Murray M'Cheyne.


But, perhaps, my old sins are too fearful, and my unbelief too glaring? Nay; I come to Christ, not although I am a sinner, but just because I am a sinner, even the chief

Robert Murray M'Cheyne.


Don't be weary with your work, don't be thinking that everything is against you, that you seem to be doing little good. Work on, hope on, pray on!

D.L. Moody


“If a man thinks he is not conceited, he is very conceited indeed.” -

C.S. Lewis


"Whoever is truly humbled — will not be easily angry, nor harsh or critical of others." -

John Newton.


"High into things invisible the ethereal ladder has borne me, and onward and forward to glory its rounds will yet conduct me. What I have seen has often failed me, but what I have not seen, and yet have believed, has always held me stably." -

Charles Spurgeon


"To realize the existence of God and to trust in him, especially to trust in his mercy, through Jesus Christ, is the essential matter. As for the life and walk of faith, they are the most singular things in the world." -

Charles Spurgeon


"Of all people who engage in controversy, we, who are called Calvinists, are most expressly bound by our own principles to the exercise of gentleness and moderation." -

John Newton.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page