top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Out Of My Control But Still In His

Updated: Apr 4, 2023



1 Samuel 23:14-29

14 And David stayed in strongholds in the wilderness and remained in the mountains in the Wilderness of Ziph. Saul sought him every day, but God did not deliver him into his hand. 15 So David saw that Saul had come out to seek his life. And David was in the Wilderness of Ziph in a forest. 16 Then Jonathan, Saul’s son, arose and went to David in the woods and strengthened his hand in God. 17 And he said to him, “Do not fear, for the hand of Saul my father shall not find you. You shall be king over Israel, and I shall be next to you. Even my father Saul knows that.” 18 So the two of them made a covenant before the LORD. And David stayed in the woods, and Jonathan went to his own house. 19 Then the Ziphites came up to Saul at Gibeah, saying, “Is David not hiding with us in strongholds in the woods, in the hill of Hachilah, which is on the south of Jeshimon? 20 Now, therefore, O king, come down according to all the desire of your soul to come down; and our part shall be to deliver him into the king’s hand.” 21 And Saul said, “Blessed are you of the LORD, for you have compassion on me. 22 Please go and find out for sure, and see the place where his hideout is, and who has seen him there. For I am told he is very crafty. 23 See, therefore, and take knowledge of all the lurking places where he hides; and come back to me with certainty, and I will go with you. And it shall be, if he is in the land, that I will search for him throughout all the clans of Judah.” 24 So they arose and went to Ziph before Saul. But David and his men were in the Wilderness of Maon, in the plain on the south of Jeshimon. 25 When Saul and his men went to seek him, they told David. Therefore he went down to the rock and stayed in the Wilderness of Maon. And when Saul heard that, he pursued David in the Wilderness of Maon. 26 Then Saul went on one side of the mountain, and David and his men on the other side of the mountain. So David made haste to get away from Saul, for Saul and his men were encircling David and his men to take them. 27 But a messenger came to Saul, saying, “Hurry and come, for the Philistines have invaded the land!” 28 Therefore Saul returned from pursuing David, and went against the Philistines; so they called that place the Rock of Escape. 29 Then David went up from there and dwelt in strongholds at En Gedi.


My friend just got back from Cabo and he told me how great it was. and then he paused. He then proceeded to tell me how there are a lot of bad too.


I was confused because I did not feel that when I went there.


He said Pastor Phil you don't understand we were met with a woman who told us where to walk when we were on the beach because part of it was a sea turtle habitat. He said certain times of the year the turtles come up on the beach and lay their eggs then go back into the water. He said it is incredible to see. Then he said there is only one place you can swim, in this little area. The lady said you don't swim anywhere else. So somebody asked why? The host said the current is so bad our lifeguards don't even go out there. And the rocks and jetty will kill you. She repeated herself for us to not go anywhere else to swim. He told me Jetskys don't even make it. Then my friend said but pastor Phil this is right in the path of the turtles. He said when they hatch the baby are very small then they crawl to the ocean if they make it because birds pick them off he said then they crawl into the current which is too bad for us.


I listened to this and thought well that's not how I would have done it.


You know when our kids are young we don't through a newborn in the deep end of the pool, We get them a baby pool and a vest with floaties. We gradually teach them how to swim. but then God spoke to me. He told me this is my design for them. God is not the author of confusion.


Trees are not meant to be in flowerpots they are best in the ground by God's design. A tree is strengthened in the ground when the winds blow it. You see God is aware of that huge riptide and turbulent waters he created it and allowed it for His purpose.


In Psalms, 23 David says He leads me by still waters but then there are these contras where we see David's life in turmoil running from Saul and fleeing for his life. Job did not wake up that morning and think it was all good. Job was God's most faithful servant and Job had lost everything and had a wife who turned on him. And told him why don't you just curse God. And Job said from the ground I came and to the ground I go blessed be the name of the Lord. Job's life was turbulent, to say the least. David understood this because he was able to say He leads me beside still waters but He also leads me through rough seas. What about you when it gets out of hand and your life is like the baby sea turtle and you can't handle the currents of this life. Do you try to fix it of cry out to the Lord? The baby sea turtle will be tossed and turned till it gets out at sea. They are tossed around for miles. Protected by God. How many times do we think God where are you?


And at the end of 23, we see God accomplishing His will and His purpose. God tells us I will lead you beside still waters but there will be times when it will be rough seas.


How big is your God? Do you understand He is Sovereign, He is in control and working out all things for His purpose.


While we struggle with why God is doing what he sees fit. Look what the prophet speaks in

Isaiah 46:9-11 NLT

9 Remember the things I have done in the past.

For I alone am God!

I am God, and there is none like me.

10 Only I can tell you the future

before it even happens.

Everything I plan will come to pass,

for I do whatever I wish.

11 I will call a swift bird of prey from the east—

a leader from a distant land to come and do my bidding.

I have said what I would do,

and I will do it.


Do you see the reminder to us that when it is out of control for you and I God has it in control and doing His will?


He is always acting for our Good and for His glory Look at

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.


The same God that leads you beside still water will protect you on rough seas.


Let us look at Ps. 139:16-17

16 You saw me before I was born.

Every day of my life was recorded in your book.

Every moment was laid out

before a single day had passed.

17 How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.

They cannot be numbered!


Do you see David's understanding of how God is working in his life?

God, you have laid it all out for me.


Remember Job what he told his wife. From the ground I cam to the ground I go BLESSED BE THE NAME OF THE LORD!


Our life is never in shambles and we may not always understand why but God does.


Just like still waters, He is there in rough seas as well God is in control when there is nothing I can do.


There are three loving actions when things are out of control (write them down)

1. God's divine protection.


Psa 5:11 But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them sing joyful praises forever. Spread your protection over them, so that all who love your name may be filled with joy.


Psa 7:1 A psalm of David, which he sang to the LORD concerning Cush of the tribe of Benjamin. I come to you for protection, O LORD my God. Save me from my persecutors—rescue me!


Psa 11:1 For the choir director: A psalm of David. I trust in the LORD for protection. So why do you say to me, “Fly like a bird to the mountains for safety!


Psa 18:2 The LORD is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.

2. God provides divine help.


Gen 49:25 May the God of your father help you; may the Almighty bless you with the blessings of the heavens above, and blessings of the watery depths below, and blessings of the breasts and womb.


Psa 18:35 You have given me your shield of victory. Your right hand supports me; your help has made me great.


Psalm 121: 1 I look up to the mountains—

does my help come from there?

2 My help comes from the LORD,

who made heaven and earth!

3 He will not let you stumble;

the one who watches over you will not slumber.

4 Indeed, he who watches over Israel

never slumbers or sleeps.

5 The LORD himself watches over you!

The LORD stands beside you as your protective shade.

6 The sun will not harm you by day,

nor the moon at night.

7 The LORD keeps you from all harm

and watches over your life.

8 The LORD keeps watching over you as you come and go,

both now and forever.


3. God provides divine intervention.


Zephaniah 3:17 tells us that the LORD our GOD in the midst of us is a mighty God, He will save us and delivers us. Today we shall be engaging in prayer points on divine intervention with bible verses.


Psalm 121 tells us that our help is in the name of the Lord.


Matthew 8:16 When the even was come, they brought unto him many that were possessed with devils: and he cast out the spirits with his word, and healed all that were sick:


Daniel 3:25 He answered and said, Lo, I see four men lose, walking in the midst of the fire, and they have no hurt; and the form of the fourth is like the Son of God.


Psalms 23:1-6 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. 5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. 6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.


Romans 5:8 But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.


Notice God is the common denominator. It is all by faith and trust in the Lord.


When you fear whatever it is where and who do you trust most? Is it God or the flesh?

David had his best friend Johnathan, we have those who look out for us but we have something better closer than a friend it's God, His Word, and the power of the Holy Spirit.


1 Samuel 23:16 Then Jonathan, Saul’s son, arose and went to David in the woods and strengthened his hand in God. 17 And he said to him, “Do not fear, for the hand of Saul my father shall not find you. You shall be king over Israel, and I shall be next to you. Even my father Saul knows that.”

DO NOT FEAR!

Look at Psalm 54: For the choir director: A psalm of David, regarding the time the Ziphites came and said to Saul, “We know where David is hiding.” To be accompanied by stringed instruments.

1 Come with great power, O God, and rescue me!

Defend me with your might.

2 Listen to my prayer, O God.

Pay attention to my plea.

3 For strangers are attacking me;

violent people are trying to kill me.

They care nothing for God.

4 But God is my helper.

The Lord keeps me alive!


When we go to God in prayer He hears us It is not always going to be easy, it may be stressful at times but we have a God who is not death, blined, and dumb. He is living and if He does not save you from it He joins you in it. Amen


Pray

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page