top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Hospitality is Practical Christianity


Romans 12:13b Practice hospitality.


So what is the difference between hospitality and entertaining? Review the following for some guidance:


Entertaining places things before people, "As soon as my house is clean, or I get a new piece of furniture, then I'll start inviting people over."


Hospitality puts people first, "No furniture? It's okay, we'll have a picnic barbeque in the backyard."


Entertaining has the perspective, "This house is mine and it is an expression of who I am as a person."


Hospitality offers, "What's mine is yours, enjoy it anytime."


Entertaining declares, "I need to impress you with my cooking, possessions, and my home."


Hospitality says with humility, "What I have is from the Lord, and I use it however He chooses."


Entertaining strives to impress.


Hospitality chooses to serve.


Now that we're clear on the difference, Paul tells us to practice hospitality.


That simply means -- just do it. And not make excuses: "The house isn't clean...I don't have enough chairs."


Hospitality is practical Christianity. It's when we see a shy person at church or a new family in our neighborhood, and we offer an invitation to our home -- to get to know them better or maybe make introductions to our friends.


Hospitality is extending and offering Christian fellowship to others.

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page