top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Consider Your Striving In Life

What do you want most in life? What are the things that motivate you, even tantalize you?


And do not keep striving for what you are to eat and what you are to drink, and do not keep worrying. For it is the nations of the world that strive after all these things, and your Father knows that you need them. Instead, strive for his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.

For what are you striving? Really? What do you want most in life? What are the things that motivate you, even tantalize you? Jesus urges us to strive for the kingdom of God. But if we’re going to do this energetically, we’d better identify those strivings that compete with our desire for God and his kingdom.

In Luke 12:29-31, Jesus tells us to not keep on striving for things like food and drink. Rather, we are to strive for the kingdom of God.


What are you striving for?


We saw an amazing picture of striving this past summer in the Tokyo Olympics. In truth, every single Olympian demonstrated not only world-class athleticism but also world-class striving. Yet, one particular example of striving has stayed with me most of all.


It came in the final of the woman’s 400-meter sprint. I was rooting for Allyson Felix, the American runner who, in Tokyo, became the most decorated woman Olympian in history. She ran an exceptional race and appeared to be in a position to win the gold medal. But at the very last second, a runner from the Bahamas, Shaunae Miller-Uibo, literally dove headfirst for the finish line, just eclipsing Felix. Such diving is legal but rarely done because of the risk of injury. In a field filled with women straining for victory, Miller-Uibo’s striving was legendary.



As I reflect on her effort, I wonder: What am I striving for? What would I be willing to dive for in order to achieve it? Now, I’ve been a Christian long enough to know all of the right answers to this question. And, in part, I really do strive for things commended in Scripture, like the kingdom of God. But, like most people, I strive for other things as well, things for which I have expended considerable effort and energy, things that may at times be what I want most in life.


For example, I know I can strive for financial security. I don’t need riches, but I do want to know that my basic needs and those of my family will be taken care of. I’m quite aware of where this particular striving comes from.


Perhaps you strive for affirmation that you didn’t receive growing up. Or maybe you want professional success most of all. Maybe you seek love from family and friends. Or . . . . You can fill the blank here.


It’s not wrong to want things like food, clothing, or love. The problem comes when we give such things extraordinary places and power in our lives. We end up striving for them in ways that can become idolatry. We want them more than we want the kingdom of God.


Let me encourage to you consider your striving in life. What do you really want most of all? For what finish line are you diving? You may know the answers to these questions already. But there may be more for you to learn. This is especially true if you’re in a season of transition, a time when your various strivings are being disrupted.

0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page