top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Choosing to be a Bond Slave

The word "servant" is translated from the Greek word "doulos" which means "bondslave". Exodus 21:2-6 describes this practice: In Israel, a slave was required to serve his master for six years. In the seventh year, he was set free. However, if the slave said, "No, I don't want to go free, I like it here," the master would then take him before a judge and pierce his ear with an awl, thereby signifying he had become "doulos" -- a slave for life.


I think it is interesting Paul used this graphic illustration to express his loyalty to Jesus Christ. He was a slave to our Lord, not because the Lord required it -- rather it was completely voluntary on Paul's part. Jesus loves us and He gave his life for us, but He won't make us His slaves. He desires a relationship with us; yet we must do it of our own accord: He will never force Himself upon us. Jesus said in Luke 13:34, "O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, you who kill the prophets and stone those sent to you, how often I have longed to gather your children together, as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but you were not willing!"


On the road to Damascus, the Lord appeared to Paul: "Saul, Saul why do you persecute me?" Paul asked, "Who are you, Lord?" He answered, "I am Jesus of Nazareth whom you are persecuting." Paul replied, "What shall I do, Lord?" [King James translation] I have always thought Paul's response was so appropriate -- because just at that moment Paul became a bond slave to Jesus Christ.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page