top of page
  • Writer's picturePhillip Raimo

Be Courageous. This. Is. War.

When I was on my way home from a meeting this morning, I heard this song on the radio for the first time. It is Courageous by Casting Crowns.


As I have been sitting here listening to it again I am thinking about what the word courageous means.


Dictionary.com defines it like this

cou·ra·geous/kəˈrājəs/Adjective:

Not deterred by danger or pain; brave.

Who in this world has to be courageous? Who would we deem people who exercise courage?


Who operates in ways that show they are not deterred by danger or pain? Who has to be brave?


People who fight battles. Soldiers, policemen and women, firefighters.


What about the more unseen battles?


Like the people who do foster care, those who help addicts, care for the homeless, the sick, and the depressed. They are fighting battles too. Battles that often feel like losing ones, taking stands that are often overlooked winning victories that are unseen and unnoticed. They are courageous.


What about spiritual battles?


That is what this song is talking about. Jesus didn’t come to this world and die so that the people who call themselves his followers would stand on the sidelines.


Jesus was courageous.


He fought the battles others turned their backs on.


We need to be courageous too. We need to recognize that battles are happening all around us. God wants to do something big in this generation.


This time. The enemy’s number one tactic is division. Division in our churches, ministries, and families, AND GOVERNMENT.


Are you being courageous? Are you taking a stand, are you fighting God’s battle, showing your bravery by not being deterred by pain or anger?


Be brave today.


Courage?


It comes from within us but has nothing to do with us. The strength to be courageous comes from the Holy Spirit who lives in you and me.


“The only way we will ever stand is on our knees with lifted hands…


Lord make us Courageous..”


THE RESOLUTION


I do solemnly resolve before God to take full responsibility for myself, my wife, and my children.


•I WILL love them, protect them, serve them, and teach them the Word of God as the spiritual leader of my home.


•I WILL be faithful to my wife, t love and honor her, and be willing to lay down my life for her as Jesus Christ did for me.


•I WILL bless my children and teach them to love God with all of their hearts, all of their minds, and all of their strengths.


•I WILL teach them to honor authority and live responsibly.


•I WILL confront evil, pursue justice, and love mercy.


•I WILL pray for others and treat them with kindness, respect, and compassion.


•I WILL work diligently t provide for the needs of my family.


•I WILL forgive those who have wronged me and reconcile with those I have wronged.


•I WILL learn from my mistakes, repent of my sins, and walk with integrity as a man answerable to God.


•I WILL seek to honor God, be faithful to His church, obey His Word, and do His will.


•I WILL courageously work with the strength God provides to fulfill this resolution for the rest of my life and for His glory.


As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. –

Joshua 24:15

2 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page